PDA

View Full Version : Journal of a Rookie

StableHand
07-14-2004, 02:30 PM
Having lurked the boards for about a year before recently registering, I have read quite a few journals; entertaining and educating, they were all written by more advanced and experienced players than myself. As a novice I therefore thought it would be interesting to keep a journal of my own.

The goals I wish to accomplish with this attempt are:

1) to provide an interesting read
2) to stimulate other beginning players
3) to keep my play disciplined and focused
4) to learn and become a better player

I also hope that it will help me to select specific hands for feedback and comments, which I otherwise find difficult to do.

I have played poker off and on, for entertainment for the past 20 years, basically as a losing player, except for one six-month stunt, where I was in a three times a week live game with lousy opponents. I have played hold'em, also on and off for about three years. I recently quit my work, and as I now have the time I have decided to dedicate it to the study of poker. I wish to develop my game and play better today than I did yesterday. I think I have a fair grasp of my limitations. I will never become an expert player, my goal is to become an intermediate player; meaning to know the usually "correct" plays in fairly uncomplicated situations by heart, spiced with a few fancy moves. It also involves being able to adjust to changing and various table conditions, proper bankroll management, and serious studying.

Currently I play exclusively on one specific site on line, due to computer hardware limitations (I need to buy a new one). Unfortunately it is not one of the best sites. Game selection is narrow, and the only action is at the 2/4 table, where players are pretty good and an even distribution of TAGs and LAGs.