PDA

View Full Version : Well, it's Been One Year. An Exciting Look Back (kind of)!

Festus22
07-14-2004, 01:59 PM
In 5 days, I will have officially played online holdem for money for 1 year. And it seems like a lifetime ago. I started playing for play money at Pokeroom and pretty much played any 2 cards. I think I put some ridiculous beat on someone who then typed “amateur hour”. And that one comment launched me into learning about the game and that’s how I found 2+2. I wish I could find that guy and shake his hand.

So I bought HPFAP as my first holdem book and realized it wasn’t written in English. Or at least it seemed that way since I had no idea what they were talking about. Jones’ WLLHE was next. OK, that seemed a bit easier to read for a newbie. The concepts were certainly new to me but seemed pretty straightforward and easy to understand. So I practiced this new found knowledge on the play money table and what do you know, it worked! I built my play money account up to $100K in about a month (if only…) and decided it was time to play “for real”.