PDA

View Full Version : How to handle low limit bad beats

05-25-2002, 06:34 PM
Hi,

This is my first time posting here. I began learning hold 'em several months ago. I've read baby Sklansky, as well as some other books and essays. I'm definitely just beginning and I don't pretend to have any real skill or experience yet. I play several hours a week (10-20) at PartyPoker and I also play in a regular home game with friends once a week. I play both at $1/$2. I have only played a couple weeks at PartyPoker, and so far I am virtually dead even in earnings. In my home game, I have lost slightly, but not much.

My question concerns how someone just learning (or anyone?) becomes better at controlling their emotions after losing one or more large pots to apparently preposterous play. I know that everyone has bad beats and loses pots to players who didn't play 'correctly' or who didn't play the hand well, but at the LOWER limits this kind of thing can become so extreme and ridiculous that sometimes it's enough to tempt one into leaving poker altogether. Let me give you 2 examples: