PDA

View Full Version : Beginner's Questions

Monty Cantsin
07-09-2004, 08:34 PM
Been playing limit for a while now and just starting out in NL. As a total novice I'll be happy to sit at the kids' table once you guys get that worked out. In the meantime I would love to get some beginner's tips.

Eventually, of course, I want to master the fine art of big bet psychomanipulation but my immediate goal is to understand the NL ABC's.

To set the scene: the low stakes online games I'm in seem pretty passive, I'm not seeing all that much raising pre-flop and very little re-raising. Post flop I see a lot of underbetting and a lot of calling. I guess this is typical?

I'm limping way more than I do in limit. Then I tighten up considerably on the flop. Hands that in limit might rate a speculative call or raise (like bottom pair A kicker) I'm dumping.

My raising hands are similar to those I have in limit. Although sometimes when it's 3 or 4 limpers to me I'll limp with a hand I always raise in limit, like AQ or KJs. I'm not sure why I'm doing this and it's probably a mistake, but I guess I'm thinking in limit a big percentage of this kind of hand's value comes from pre-flop and in NL the value really comes post flop. Am I close? (I do raise these first in or after 1 or 2 limpers.)

My standard raise is 4x BB, which seems higher than most other people's. Should I adjust this to be "table standard"?

When I bet the flop after a PFR and no unusual pre-flop action it's usually pot-sized.

I usually follow up on pre-flop raises regardless of the flop, and I will sometimes take a stab at pots that no-one seems interested in, but I'm pretty quick to release an ok hand to substantial pressure. I'm not looking for marginal hands that I can play well, I'm looking for great hands that can bust stacks and I'm willing to wait for them.

The phrase that keeps rolling around my head is something I read in a post by limon: "I'm looking for 'to the felt' value".