PDA

View Full Version : Top pair with good kicker - good or bad fold?

cab4656
07-08-2004, 04:43 PM
Hi all. I'm a successful .50/1 limit player and I've mainly been playing that to build my bankroll. UB's SNG promotion was too nice of a deal for me to pass up, though, so I've been doing those this month. I have some experience with SNGs in the past, but never really played this many. I was wondering if anyone has any thoughts of this hand. I don't have the online hand history so I can't use the converter, but I have all the info. Here it is:

UltimateBet $5 + .50 SNG
Blinds are 20/40

UTG (t645)
Hero (t870)
UTG+2 (t140)
MP1 (t890)
MP2 (t1540)
MP3 (t1645)
CO (t2435)
Button (t830)
SB (t995)
BB (t10)

Hero is UTG+1 with A/images/graemlins/diamond.gifQ/images/graemlins/diamond.gif

Pre-flop: UTG calls, Hero raises to t80, UTG+2 folds, MP1 folds, MP2 folds, MP3 calls, CO folds, Button folds, SB folds, BB is all-in after posting, UTG calls.

Flop: A/images/graemlins/heart.gif3/images/graemlins/heart.gif6/images/graemlins/spade.gif
UTG checks, Hero bets t270, MP3 calls, UTG raises to t565 (all-in), Hero folds, MP3 calls

Turn: K/images/graemlins/diamond.gif

River: 9/images/graemlins/club.gif

After the call by MP3 and the check-raise by UTG, I decided that I might be beat, and against two players it would be best to fold and wait for a better spot. The blinds were still somewhat small and I could wait it out.

schwza
07-08-2004, 04:55 PM
that's a tough call... it's close. i'd be inclined to push. you've already put in 350 of your 870, and early in SnGo's i've seen people way overvalue a hand like A7 in this spot. if you fold you're going to be short-stacked and it will be tough to get back in it.

Sam T.
07-08-2004, 05:18 PM
My initial reaction is to push, but the check-raise all-in by UTG (particularly after MP1's call) just screams of a monster. (Or "idiot". At this level you can't be too sure.) Tough lay-down, but I think you made the right choice.

slogger