PDA

View Full Version : How to get back on track?

adam61
07-07-2004, 02:37 PM
June was a horrible month for me. April and May I felt like I really improved my game, got my ROI up from 10% to 25% or so on party. I was doing pretty well, very seriously considering moving up to $20+2 but before I did I wanted to branch out a little and play a few other game types with my big new bankroll. I had built my bankroll from $225 to $650 during this couple months at $10+1 on party.

I had been a successful limit player before I started playing SNGs. So I went back and played some $2/4 and lost about $150 which could be nothing but a bad streak but I decided to skip on that. I continued playing $10+1 and winning ok but also doing a few multi-tables here and there to the tune of about -$125. I tried 3 of the 3-Table $30+3s and took 6 8 and 10th which was pretty devastating to lose on the bubble all 3 times and lose another $100.

I went back to $10+1 and got my account back up to $450. Then I decided I'd cut out all the crap and refocus myself on $20+2. I played 9 and lost them all. I didn't feel particularly outplayed but the competition was definitely a little better. So I took about a week off to rest my brain, settle down, and rethink.

I came back and have played about 100 SNGs since then at $10+1 with a 2% ROI (dismal). The last 30 or so of those I stopped 2 tabling and really buckled down and tightened up which usually will get me a couple places, and that hasn't really helped either.

So what's my move here, and what mistakes did I make? I've had bad runs but they've never been -$450(at my low limits that a lot) and they've never been soooooo drawn out. Is it a mistake to try other game types, especially ones you know you should be somewhat positive at? And was it a good idea to move up to 20+2? Was trying some multi-tables a good idea? And finally what's my best bet to get myself back on track and hopefully move to 20+2?

adam61
07-07-2004, 02:49 PM