PDA

View Full Version : Avoiding flopped sets

young nut
07-07-2004, 02:11 AM
I would evaluate myself as a fairly decent amateur NL HE player. I have been playing for about 6 months and have educated myself by reading many books and playing tons of games. But I find that I still run into a major problem that ends up costing me a lot of money or chips.

The situation is this....
I preflop raise with AK and only end up with 1 or 2 callers. The flop comes something like A 9 2 rainbow. I bet the pot or larger and get raised! At first I used to reraise automatically. But many times I have been taken down with a hand like pocket 2's or pocket 9's when they hit the set on the flop.

I'm trying to figure out a way to either A. avoid this situation or B. read them correctly. I have a hard time giving up top pair of aces with the best kicker, but recently it almost seemd like the right move. Please let me know any experiences you might have had like this and any ways to get around this problem.

Big Jon
07-07-2004, 02:42 AM
TPTK has always been a problem hand in NLHE. In limit, you can bet the flop, get raised, and then just check-call it down. In no-limit, you'll probably lose your whole stack trying to get it shown down.

There is no easy answer to when you should lay down TPTK, but if you're having your pot-sized bet on the flop with something like A 9 2 rainbow raised, that's a pretty good indicator that you're well behind. The discoordination of the board here makes the raise reek of aces up or a set. You're a big dog to these hands and should fold.

The worst is when you flop TPTK and some loosey-goosey calls you down with two mediocre pair, never raising or indicating a hand at any time.