PDA

View Full Version : First Post - Question on Hold 'em Poker for Advanced Players

DukeLeto
07-06-2004, 11:08 AM
Hi everyone,
I am new to this sight as of today /images/graemlins/smile.gif. I have been a postive EV gambler for a few years playing primarily playing BlackJack and occassionaly Video Poker. The availability of good games of those types is becoming quite rare, and over time I have found them to be somewhat boring.

Therefore I have looked to Hold em to break the monotony. I have read Hold em section in Phil Helmuth's poker book and played several thousand hands with Wilson Software's Turbo Texas Hold Em watching the advise of its Advisor.

I have just purchased Hold 'em Poker for Advanced Players based on high recommendations from BJ21.com forum friends. The book refers to a Hole 'em Poker book by Salansky which I havent seen anywhere before and is apparently a prerequiste to the advanced book.

My question given the little experience I've mentioned above, is it necessary/profitable for me to find the first book and study it, or should I go ahead and make a serious study of the advanced book?

Also, any general newbie help will be appreciated....ie...who gives meaningful newbie posts to study in the history files, good internet sites to play on, etc.

Thank You,
DukeLeto

MarkD
07-06-2004, 12:43 PM
The book you are looking for is called:
"Hold'em Poker" by David Sklansky. You should find it simple enough by clicking on the authors link on the left hand side of this page, selecting david sklansky and taking a look.

I have never seen the book, but suggest you actually peruse a low limt book before HPFAP depending on your level of skill and familiarity with concepts. Now, Winning Low Limit Holdem by Lee Jones is generally the recommended text for a first book on holdem. It has mistakes (I haven't read it in a long time) but it is still generally considered the best first book.