PDA

View Full Version : What makes a "tough" player tough?

Guy F
07-05-2004, 02:15 PM
I can't say I'm a total newbie, as I'm now closing in on a year of playing online, but I wouldn't count myself as more than a beginner, playing .50/1 limit and .25/.50 PL and NL 2-3 nights a week. Hey, I'm a cheapskate!

There are a zillion posts in different places about loose players, and it's been interesting lurking in the middle limit forum to read about how better players play. Here's the dilemma I have at my current level of understanding. From what I can tell, a "tough" player will put a lot of pressure on you by raising at various times, with middle pair or even nothing if he thinks you'll fold. The trouble for me is that a loose aggressive player does similar things. The tough player will call or raise your bluffs, but so will the loose player. I'm trying to sort out the differences between them, either in betting action or reasons behind their actions. Is it just a matter of the tough player reading others better - knowing or suspecting that a given play will succeed against player A but not with player B? Obviously I have much to learn, but that's why I'm here!

Randy Burgess
07-05-2004, 02:21 PM
A "tough" player will generally be playing much tighter and so won't be leaking chips like a loose-aggressive. Genuinely tough players will be quite rare at the limits you're playing.

Guy F
07-05-2004, 05:32 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Genuinely tough players will be quite rare at the limits you're playing.

[/ QUOTE ]

Oh I quite agree - but I like to "railbird" at 10/20 and up online to see how the other half lives. Sometimes the aggression just looks loose to my untrained eyes, so I'm trying to discern what they're thinking. I guess it could just be some genuinely loose players with lots of money to blow, though.

lunchmeat
07-05-2004, 06:41 PM